Overview Study Programmes – Psychotherapy Science

The degree programmes in psychotherapy science at SFU combine research and teaching, providing theoretical knowledge and practical skills. The following degree programmes are offered in English at SFU Vienna:

Bachelor Programme Psychotherapy Science

The Bachelor Programme is a foundation course, i.e. it teaches the basics of psychotherapy science. The course duration is six semesters. Upon successful completion, students earn the academic degree Bakkalaurea / Bakkalaureus der Psychotherapiewissenschaft (BA.pth.).

Master Programme Psychotherapy Science

The Master Programme in psychotherapy science builds on the Bachelor programme and provides in-depth knowledge of theory, methodology, scientific and research methods and clinical competences. The course duration is four semesters. Upon successful completion, students earn the academic degree Magistra / Magister der Psychotherapiewissenschaft (Mag.pth.).

Doctoral Programme Psychotherapy Science

The focus of the Doctoral Programme in Psychotherapy Science is on qualitative research, related to empirical, theoretical and historical work, including the critical examination of existing research directions or schools. The duration of the programme is 6 semesters. The awarded degree is a Doktorin / Doktor der Psychotherapiewissenschaft (Dr. scient. pth.) which is equivalent to an international Ph.D.

Study programmes in Psychotherapy Science in German

At SFU Vienna, the Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctoral programmes in Psychotherapy Science are also offered in German.

Places of Implementation | Branches

In addition to the faculty’s headquarter in Vienna, you find departments of psychotherapy science in the places of implementation listed below. There the Bachelor and Master Degree Programmes in Psychotherapy Science are offered in the respective local language: